Skip to content

Reconnected

November 24, 2011

Sooooo… it’s been a while since I was last able to make a post, due to my internet getting disconnecting. Along with web access, I lost access to all of my Japanese learning resources, because I didn’t save anything! Apart from my kanji, which I haven’t felt motivated enough to continue with (without a connection to everything else Japanese), everything I used was online.

But I plan to start posting in earnest now, now that my internet is back.

So this first post is really just a reminder to me that I can post again, and a starting point to writing about Japanese

I’m still looking into various techniques, and trying to commit to one. This is probably the most dangerous and time-consuming phase: I could spend years deciding which method to use, without actually learning a single phrase of Japanese. Also, if I choose a method and sink months into it and it doesn’t work for me, then I’ve wasted time again – so I feel like I need to choose fast, and choose well.

I wouldn’t say I’m an advocate of the “AJATT” method or anything (if you can even call it a method? It’s more like a collection of methods, I guess; a “methods”), but I like the way Khatzumoto writes and his posts are quiet inspiring, which is probably really useful at this phase. I’m still more than a little confused about more specific techniques such as lazy kanji cards and the like, but for now, I don’t want to get distracted by what I don’t understand; in fact, that’s part of what Khatzumoto promotes – Ignore what you can’t understand, because one day, eventually, once you’ve had enough exposure, you’ll understand. And so far, I don’t have enough exposure to learning methods, or even the individual pieces of software, to understand every SRSing technique and so on.

So for now, the plan is this: find a bunch of TV shows and music that I like, including anime (I refuse to believe you can’t learn from anime, but that might be because I refuse to cut anime out of my watching schedule 😛 ), and just watch, listen, “feel”, and build up exposure points. I’ll post more specific methods at a later date!

To everyone else learning a language: Good luck!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

